The term data compression refers to decreasing the number of bits of information which should be saved or transmitted. This can be achieved with or without losing data, so what will be removed in the course of the compression will be either redundant data or unneeded one. When the data is uncompressed subsequently, in the first case the information and the quality shall be the same, while in the second case the quality will be worse. There're various compression algorithms which are better for various sort of data. Compressing and uncompressing data generally takes a lot of processing time, so the server performing the action must have adequate resources in order to be able to process the data quick enough. A simple example how information can be compressed is to store just how many consecutive positions should have 1 and how many should have 0 in the binary code instead of storing the actual 1s and 0s.

Data Compression in Semi-dedicated Hosting

The semi-dedicated hosting plans which we offer are created on a powerful cloud hosting platform which runs on the ZFS file system. ZFS employs a compression algorithm known as LZ4 that exceeds any other algorithm out there in terms of speed and data compression ratio when it comes to processing web content. This is valid especially when data is uncompressed because LZ4 does that faster than it would be to read uncompressed data from a hard disk and for that reason, Internet sites running on a platform where LZ4 is enabled will function at a higher speed. We can benefit from this feature regardless of the fact that it requires quite a considerable amount of CPU processing time because our platform uses many powerful servers working together and we do not make accounts on just a single machine like a lot of companies do. There is another benefit of using LZ4 - considering the fact that it compresses data really well and does that very fast, we can also generate several daily backup copies of all accounts without influencing the performance of the servers and keep them for 30 days. This way, you will always be able to restore any content that you erase by mistake.